Independent, Expert EV Reviews & Advice Since 2006
Low CVP Awards 2014 winners BMW

BMW wins overall LowCVP Low Carbon Champions Award

Low CVP Awards 2014 winners BMW

Low CVP Awards 2014 winners BMW

BMW was announced as the overall winner of the LowCVP Low Carbon Champions Awards at a packed gala dinner hosted by Cenex-LCV in Milton Keynes last night.

The BMW Group was awarded the ‘Grand Prix’ award for Outstanding Achievement in Low Carbon Transport (winner of winners) in a celebration hosted by TV personality Robert Llewellyn. Professor Dame Julia King, author of the seminal ‘King Review of Low Carbon Cars’, was recognised with a special award for outstanding individual achievement.

Best known for his role as Kryten in BBC’s Red Dwarf and presenting Channel 4’s Scrapheap Challenge, Robert Llewellyn was Master of Ceremonies, presenting the Awards with nearly 300 industry peers and low carbon transport stakeholders in attendance.

The LowCVP Managing Director Andy Eastlake said about the Awards: “These Awards recognise best practice, and outstanding leadership and innovation in cutting carbon from vehicles and fuels, as well as through other means.

“This year we had more, and higher quality, entries than ever before showing just how far and fast the whole low carbon road transport industry is now progressing, and how many individual stakeholders are contributing to the change.”

BMW was the winner of the prestigious Low Carbon Car / Van Manufacturer of the Year. The entry impressed the judges as it showed the company’s commitment to a visionary new approach to sustainable mobility and also to cutting the environmental impacts of production. The ‘i’ range of vehicles bring Ultra Low Emission Vehicles to a wider range of customers than ever before.

BYD Europe B.V. was the winner of the Low Carbon Heavy Duty Vehicle Manufacturer of the Year Award. The judges said that the vehicles introduced have demonstrated impressive carbon saving through their innovative electric powertrain systems and, moreover, provide a compelling business case with high market growth potential.

The judging panel comprised 22 senior executives from across the range of organisations with a stake in the low carbon road transport agenda. Around 25 entries were shortlisted for awards.

One of the judges, Philip Sellwood, Chief Executive of the Energy Saving Trust, said: “The road transport sector has been a real success story in terms of cutting carbon as well as delivering growth and dynamism to the UK economy. I was delighted to play a part in celebrating the successes of the entrants to these awards who are making an important contribution to current, and future, UK economic success.”

Full list of awards

‘Grand Prix Award’: Outstanding Achievement in Low Carbon Transport (Winner of winners)

BMW Group

Outstanding Individual in Promoting Low Carbon Transport

Professor Dame Julia King

Low Carbon Car /Van Manufacturer of the Year

BMW Group – Winner

Tesla Motors Ltd – Runner up

Nissan Motor GB – Highly commended

Mitsubishi Motors in the UK – Highly commended

Low Carbon Heavy Duty Vehicle Manufacturer of the Year

BYD Europe B.V. – Winner

Iveco UK Ltd – Highly commended

Wrightbus – Highly commended

Low Carbon Vehicle Operator of the Year

Reading Buses Winner

Tesco – Runner up

Eddie Stobart Ltd – Highly Commended

Low Carbon Fuel Initiative of the Year

Gasrec Ltd – Winner

Commercial Group and the London Hydrogen Network Expansion (LHNE) – Runner Up

Gas Bus Alliance – Highly Commended

2014 Award for Low Carbon Innovation by an SME

Celtic Renewables Ltd – Winner

Low Carbon Road Transport Initiative of the Year (Joint Winners)

Eco Travel Network (ETN) – joint winners

Transport & Environment (T&E) – joint winners

Milton Keynes Council – Highly Commended

2014 Outstanding Low Carbon Publication or Report

Cambridge Econometrics – Winner

Electric Vehicles Inititaive (EVI) and International Energy Agency (IEA) – Highly commended

Transport & Environment with Malcolm Fergusson – Highly commended


Read more about the LowCVP Conference 2014