Independent, Expert EV Reviews & Advice Since 2006
BMW 330e

BMW eDrive Zone function switches to EV mode in low emission zones

BMW plug-in hybrid models will feature an eDrive Zone function which will ensure an automatic switch to purely electric operating mode when entering inner city areas such as low emission zones.

BMW eDrive Zone will be a standard feature of all plug-in hybrid models in the BMW 3 Series, BMW 5 Series and BMW 7 Series ranges as well as the BMW X5. 

The digital service uses geo-fencing technology via GPS to identify designated areas. eDrive zones of this kind are currently designated in some 80 cities throughout Europe. 

When the service is activated, each available eDrive Zone on the navigation map is graphically highlighted in the Control Display: a message appears to inform the driver that the vehicle will automatically switch to electric driving mode as soon as it enters an eDrive Zone.

From summer 2020, the above plug-in hybrid models will also be fitted with an integrated drive-ready sound for electric power as standard. This means that both starting and stopping the electric drive will be accompanied by a distinctive acoustic signal. 

In addition there has been an expansion of the range of preconditioning functions, which is also a standard feature. Depending on the equipment fitted, more functions will be available that can be activated remotely by smartphone, in addition to interior cooling and heating. In future it will also be possible to activate the seat, steering wheel, exterior mirror and rear window heating systems in the preconditioning for heating the interior, as well as heating of the cameras for the driver assistance systems.

BMW has also announced that it is introducing 48-volt mild hybrid technology for 37 additional models from summer 2020. This means that from July and August 2020, 51 models will feature a powerful starter generator and an additional battery. This also applies to the new in-line 6-cylinder diesel engines in the BMW 7 Series and in the BMW X3, BMW X4, BMW X5, BMW X6 and BMW X7.