Independent, Expert EV Reviews & Advice Since 2006
Euro 6

What are the Euro 6 emissions standards?

Euro 6

Want to know more about diesel emissions and Euro standards? See our infographic below.

Euro 6 diesel engine emissions legislation that was introduced by the European Commission on September 1st 2015 as it looked to make vehicles cleaner. How have the standards changed the motoring scene for the better? Long term van hire and leasing specialists Northgate investigates:

A background on Euro emissions standards

After finding that oxides of nitrogen and particulate matter were proving very harmful to people’s health, the European Commission acted by introducing the Euro emissions standards.

Legislation for controlling and reducing the release of these damaging emissions featured throughout the standards, with vehicle manufacturers having to invest in developing technology to comply with the regulations.

Here’s a look to the Euro emissions standards that came before Euro 6:

Euro 1

  • Introduced in:
  • Affecting: Passenger cars and light commercial vehicles.
  • Highlights of the standard: Introduced catalytic converters and unleaded petrol to the motoring scene.

Euro 2

  • Introduced in:
  • Affecting: Passenger cars.
  • Highlights of the standard: Introduced different emissions limits for both petrol and diesel vehicles.

Euro 3

  • Introduced in:
  • Affecting: All vehicles.
  • Highlights of the standard: Added a separate nitrogen oxide limit for diesel engines, while separate hydrocarbon and nitrogen oxide limits were introduced for petrol engines.

Euro 4

  • Introduced in:
  • Affecting: All vehicles.
  • Highlights of the standard: Aimed to reduce the amount of particulate matter and nitrogen oxide that was omitted from diesel vehicles. Particulate filters were also fitted to a selection of Euro 4 vehicles.

Euro 5

  • Introduced in:
  • Affecting: All vehicles.
  • Highlights of the standard: Tightened the limits on particulate emissions from diesel engines.

Further benefits of Euro 6

The Euro 6 standards aim to improve the motoring scene even further, by delivering the following benefits:

  1. Reduce harmful exhaust emissions across all vehicles, which principally consists of carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxide and particulate matter; three gases which have been found to contribute to global warming.
  2. Encourage vehicle manufacturers to create new technology which aims to see significant reductions in air pollution.
  3. Establish Clean Air Zones in Birmingham, Leeds, Nottingham and Southampton by 2020, whereby the government will aim to improve air quality across these cities with the minimal of impact on businesses based there.
  4. Make Central London an Ultra Low Emission Zone from 2020 — this will see drivers of all vehicles entering the capital either having to meet exhaust emission standards or pay a daily charge to continue their commute.
  5. Improve fuel efficiency of all vehicles thanks to the development of an exhaust purification system called Selective Catalytic Reduction, which is designed to function alongside the high-quality urea solution AdBlue.
  6. Allow businesses to make use of the latest low and zero emission vehicle technology on the market, thanks to £19 million of funding that is being put aside by the government.
  7. Introduce new technology which should see all affected vehicles experiencing longer servicing gaps.

Euro 6 infographic